, ,

Atletico Madrid win third Europa title

Atletico Madrid have emerged champions in the Europa League again, following their comprehensive 3-0 win over Olympique Marseille in Wednesday’s final at the Groupama Stadium in Lyon.

Two goals from man-of-the-match, Antoine Griezmann and another late one from Captain Gabi gave the La Liga giants the well-deserved victory.

Griezmann gave the 2010 and 2012 winners the lead in the 21st minute and the Frenchman doubled his tally early in the second period.

Atletico expertly saw things through and added a third goal late on from skipper Gabi to cap a ruthless display.

Atletico Madrid have now won the UEFA Europa League on three separate occasions since the competition’s inaugural season in 2009/10.

The new Europa League champions will be playing against Nigeria on May 22 in Uyo, Akwa Ibom state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Stakes raised for Mourinho-Conte feud in Cup final showdown

Donald Trump says ‘we’ll see’ on North Korea summit